Pronounced “free-kah”, the Arabic name translates to “to rub”, referring to the process by which freekeh is made, not the grain variety, according to the Whole Grains Council. The process starts by picking young green grains, most commonly wheat, then parching, roasting and rubbing off the grain. Because the grains are harvested while young, they retain the maximum nutritional value, along with the best flavor and texture. While the grain has not yet made it onto the USDA nutrient database, the grain is reportedly high in protein and fiber, and low in available carbohydrates and glycemic index. Because it is typically derived from wheat, freekeh is not gluten-free or recommended for people who are gluten intolerant. Researchers are studying the early harvesting and roasting techniques to determine whether wheat gluten becomes denatured in the process.